Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 1st, 2011

LIANZA11 Day Two


Day two of LIANZA11 started off well with Bill MacNaught’s address (available here now).  Much what he said was uplifting and it was good to hear of the plans of the National Library.

Keynote speaker Aroha Mead gave a useful overview of the WAI-262 Taonga Claim, something that I knew very little about but which I was interested to hear.  I was particularly interested in hearing about the potential recommendations from the tribunal with respect to kaitiaki and digital taonga.  I recently attended a presentation by my colleague Michelle Lee at MPOW who has been part of launching a Virtual Pā for her tribe who spoke about the rational behind her use of Ning and how the layers of access visitors have to parts of the Virtual Pā reflects the tikanga of face to face interactions.

Other sessions I attended this day weren’t what I expected them to be I’m afraid.  I was tossing up between several sessions and always seemed to pick the one that wasn’t so interesting (for me)!  But you get that with conferences. 🙂

Read Full Post »