Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 26th, 2010


I think I have mentioned it before, but I read and write in the Science fiction/ speculative fiction genres. One of the core elements in this genre is the question “What if?” This question has been coming to the fore of my thinking in regards to public libraries recently.

With the pressure on budgets, the Auckland Super City merger, reading charges being reintroduced, the launch of the Ipad and the emerging ebook market amongst other events I have been pondering the long term viability and nature of the public library. For me, the public library should and must have a place in the future community but what shape and form will it take?

After my post this morning on South Taranaki’s library charges Paul Reynolds on Twitter posted this “Is it time to canvass and lobby for a national public library offer with statutory protection? I think it is. Thoughts invited.”

I too have had thoughts on this. We are a small country population wise, but large geographically. Is a National Public Library service viable? What form would it take? Who would pay for it? What would be advantages? Disadvantages?

So here are some thoughts:

A single national public library would have a single membership database. No longer would you need to join different systems if you work in different councils. Nor when you shift.

A single national public library would have a single LMS. This would be bad for vendors, but good for libraries. The merge buying power would be able to produce/buy a top of the line system.  

There would also have ramifications for EPIC. One system would mean one subscription to the resources. Potentially the combined buying power would mean a lot more resources available.  

This could potentially result in saving across the board.

A single LMS would mean that there would be a lot less cataloguers around the country. You would only one team. It would also impact on the scope of how District Librarians work.

It would also have ramifications for the Interloan system, as all public library systems would be the one and the same. Thoughts would have to be put into how to manage demand and reserves from around the country.

Overall there could be some serious benefits for such a service, there are also a large number of potential pitfalls and problems. Getting all the councils country wide on board would be a huge undertaking.

Is Paul right though? Is it time for this discussion?

 

Read Full Post »


This is a story for those of you out there like me who find some elements of the new paradigm of everything been stored out there on the web for free a worry.

When Google Owns You – A New Chapter

Almost two years ago, I wrote When Google Owns You, about what happened with Nick Saber was cut off from all his Google applications. It’s worth taking a quick read now. Now, it’s my turn. I woke up this morning in Montreal to find that my access to my Google accounts has been temporarily disabled due to a “perceived violation of either the Google Terms of Service or product-specific Terms of Service.”

Don’t ask why. I haven’t found out yet. I can’t just yet. I’m in Canada.

So, here’s the list of things I can’t do without my Google Account:

  • Use my phone properly – it’s an Android phone.
  • Access my primary calendar.
  • Access my Google Wave (for collaboration projects).
  • Access all my RSS subscriptions (Google Reader).
  • Access my documents (Google Docs).

For anyone who wants to write in the comments “you should have a backup for everything, etc,” save the ink. We all know we should have more than one system, but, look again. That means carrying another phone, using a synced calendar platform, and then for the last three, a lot of document sync.

But my thing is this: my access to several core functions are downed in one shot.

The only upside: it *appears* that it’ll be easier to fix this once I’m back in the States. I simply have to give them my phone number to receive a text message. Note that I say “appears.” I use a Google Voice phone number. Will it even be able to receive my text message from Google helping me open my accounts?

People outside of the United States should take note of this.

Read Full Post »


In the last couple of weeks I have heard rumours and heard second hand that South Taranaki Library was having library charges, including adult rental charges, reintroduced. For many years now South Taranaki has been the library services most envied by many in small town public libraries. They had no overdue charges, no reserve charges, even their DVD’d were free. Any change to that is going to come as a big shock.

I have been waiting to see some sort of news reporting, or announcement from LIANZA on this development. Maybe a bit like when the Tauranga charges hit the front pages. So far I have seen nothing, and I find that disturbing. I know that in Tauranga there has been public meetings, and protests, yet I have heard nothing coming out of South Taranaki.

This morning I decided to see if I could find anything on the Internet and all I found was this:

South Taranaki Library Users Face Shock $1-A-Book Charge / Taranaki Daily News; New Plymouth, New Zealand, Apr 14, 2010 by Loney Kelly

LIBRARY users in South Taranaki may have to pay library rentals of $1 a book as the council finds ways to keep rates down.

The shock moves also include higher fees for rubbish and selling off town halls.

The possible sale of pensioner units and shorter swimming pool seasons are also in the mix, but rates are set to rise significantly.

Despite that, the council’s proposed annual plan for the 2010- 2011 financial year is warning average residential rates could rise by about $200 a year.

All that was revealed at a council meeting in Hawera on Monday, when the proposed annual plan was adopted and made available for public consultation.

I was horrified by the thought of $1.00 adult charges. It makes the silence over this even more worrying, especially since the consultation period for Draft Annual Plans is rapidly coming to a close.. If that is introduced the impact on the library service in South Taranaki will devastating.

Read Full Post »