Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 9th, 2009


It’s been quite a fortnight since I last wrote! Brian Edwards managed to get himself offside with pretty much the entire library profession by accusing us of theft by hiring out his books, then mysteriously he deleted the blog post like it had never happened. Intrepid G.L.A.M digital guru Paul Reynolds kept him honest though and let us know where a copy of the posting could still be found. The lesson? Whatever you post online lives forever…..

Amazon are, after a long wait, apparently releasing the Kindle in 100 markets and sadly one of them is not New Zealand (http://www.nzherald.co.nz/technology/news/article.cfm?c_id=5&objectid=10601992). Not sure what is going on there. I would have thought New Zealand would be a prime market for this type of stuff and I certainly am eager to get my hands on one!

I registered my first .geek.nz domain name. Yes folks, I am the proud owner of librarian.geek.nz. I am not sure what I am going to do with it yet, but I thought it would be fun to have anyway. This is incidentally my second domain name after I registered corinhaines.com a few months back. It’s kind of fun and easy, so if you have always wanted to grab your name, or have a burning desire to save that brilliant domain name. Go ahead and do it!!!!

And now we are only days away from LIANZA conference. I am presenting two papers and chairing a session, so it is going to be one of my busier conferences so far. I leave Sunday morning and have just spent a few minutes getting my papers in order.  I also have a busy weekend ahead getting my presentation to where I want it. I did a trial run on Wednesday and on the basis of that am making a few changes before the day. 

So I hope to see many old and new faces at conference and that some of you will come along to my presentations.

Corin

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 656 other followers